#AtoZ Theme Reveal 2020: 26 Letters of Love

Love: this four-letter word
Holds power in its grasp
that can move mountains, raise floods
Inspire you to greatness
Drive you to madness
But
What does this four-letter word mean to me?


I have had a difficult relationship with love and through these 26 poems, I hope to explore the different facets of it so I may understand it better.

Though I have had someone or something in mind while writing the poems, they are all written in first person to have a more universal appeal. Some poems are fiction stories written in poetry format and some are just silly strings of words because they made me laugh.

It will be quite an achievement for me to write not 1, not 2 but 26 whole poems. As someone who cannot rhyme to save herself, despite all my efforts, they still have a musical quality to them. Or so I think.

It has been an interesting journey of self-discovery as I continue to write these. Hopefully some of them will resonate with you as well. I’ll see you in April!


A to Z is a daily blogging challenge scheduled for the month of April and this is my fourth time participating. My previous attempts were:

  1. AtoZ 2017: The stories we love best live in us forever
  2. AtoZ 2018: The Adventures of Radha
  3. AtoZ 2019: 26 Myths and Legends

I absolutely adore this challenge and work extra hard to ensure I participate properly, which is why I usually start preparing from January! Adios for now.


  1. I am angry at you
  2. Between your pages
  3. The chasm
  4. Once the dust settles
  5. Everything but mine
  6. Foolish
  7. Guns and roses
  8. Hero
  9. The inner circle
  10. A jar full of promises
  11. I have not been kind to you
  12. My lighthouse
  13. How much do I love thee?
  14. Lonely no more
  15. Out brief candle
  16. Do not pity me
  17. The quest
  18. Remember me
  19. The blue-coloured stone
  20. Trapped
  21. Underneath the skin
  22. Intertwined vines
  23. Will you love me then?
  24. XOXO
  25. You and I
  26. Zenith

Published by Suchita

Reader | Writer | Gyaani

57 thoughts on “#AtoZ Theme Reveal 2020: 26 Letters of Love

  1. Tough challenge! Love and poetry a beautiful tango… I’ve never tried A TO Z challenge. So knowing somebody started preparing from January is like WOW for me. All the best dear ❤

    Like

  2. Ohh this is something to look forward to. When it comes to love, words and poetry can be endless. All the best for the challenge! 😀

    Like

  3. Your prose is so riveting that I’m sure your poetry will be equally so . It’s a shame about bad relationships but writing about them in poetry is easier than in prose . I know because I feel more intensely in verse . Hope this is a cathartic experience for you . I look forward to reading you this challenge

    Like

    1. Thank you for your very kind words! Yes it has been a cathartic experience and I do feel verse is a lot more raw than prose because verse does not give you the liberty of getting distracted with descriptions, etc.

      Like

  4. Poetry writing…woooo. I am bad at poetry writing. In college days, I used to do some shero shayari but poem..was not and is still not my cup of tea. Might get some inspiration from your posts.

    Like

    1. I don’t know the p of poetry writing but I do love writing them. There’s something challenging about conveying meaning through limited words. Thanks Alpana.

      Like

  5. Wonderful theme, Suchita. Looking forward to your poetry. As a person who cannot really rhyme well, I am always in awe of people who can. Kudos and all the best.

    Like

Leave a comment