Underneath the skin

Every time you walk close to me
There’s a rushing sound in my ears
My heart starts to thud in my throat
And my limbs go languid so they can
Wrap around you to bring you closer.

As soon as chest meets chest
The harsh pants mingle want and
Tingles all over my body where I
No longer belong to myself and you
No longer belong to yourself.

Your arms around me while holding me up
Also make me feel like you won’t ever let go
Your moist mouth as it closes over mine
Feels like its whispering prayers
A worship and a call to arms as my eyes flutter close.

The thumping of the heartbeats
Is harsh and violent
As is the frenzied mouths and hands
Roaming, memorizing, mapping,
Leaving a trail of fire in its wake.

And in that harshness
Are whispered words
Loving, needing, lusting, wanting
Words that at once quicken and then soothe
The crest and trough an agonizing sweetness.

A solid wall or maybe it’s a bed
The only thing keeping us upright
And tethered to this corporeal world
As hands travel underneath the skin
To unravel and to remake.

The aftermath leaves a glorious glow
A feeling of transcendence like
I have touched the calmness of the moonlight
And suffered the harsh rays of the sun
A lifetime of summers and winters lived and lost.

You move first, bringing me up
Out of the haze and into the now
We whisper words that are filled with a meaning
No word can hold but in the gathering twilight
They convey the story they are meant to.

As our foreheads touch
Nothing more needs to be said
Or felt or touched, only that
Underneath this skin, if you look, if I look
You will find me and I will find you.


Written as part of AtoZ. For more, check the Theme Reveal 2020 – 26 Letters of Love.

Published by Suchita

Reader | Writer | Gyaani

25 thoughts on “Underneath the skin

  1. While ‘making love’ with words is an art, it’s hard to make readers ‘feel’ both both protagonists unless it’s from the heart.

    Lovely piece of writing

    Like

  2. A passionate and captivating narration of two becoming one and losing the identity in the process only to realize that its two bodies with one soul!

    Like

Leave a comment