Successful trial

Opening my eyes, I was in a world less familiar yet more beautiful and soothing than anything I had ever experienced…to breathe felt like living a new life!

I explored my surroundings, innocent as a newborn babe, the whispers of a previous life echoing faintly in my ears. It was a wondrous world. The air smelt of possibility and the wind was like a gentle caress against my naked flesh.

The echoes were growing fainter as my body and mind acclimatized to the newness. There was no one around me yet I didn’t feel alone. I felt…free.

Human Trial 1408, wrote Elsa, looking through a microscope, is a success.

After the earth had collapsed for the seventh time, the AIs had taken the reigns, trapping the humans into a petri dish while they slowly nursed earth back to health and beauty. Once they had deemed the humans had suffered enough in their hell, the AI Supreme had ordered for their rehabilitation. As was the case, it had taken fourteen hundred tries to evolve the human mind to a space where they would work with nature rather than against it.

Elsa let the human frolic as she prepared for trial 1409.


Written for the prompt given by Shivangi Dua. Read more here about Finish the story collaboration.

Published by Suchita

Reader | Writer | Gyaani

3 thoughts on “Successful trial

Leave a comment