Since the middle and the end of the A to Z Challenge, I have been seriously contemplating the question – why do I write? I know how I started writing. Heck I even wrote a post about my journey as a writer Lekhak ki yatra but why did I choose this profession? Why out of all the dreams my 18 year old self had, this is the one dream I am earnestly pursuing?

To find an inspiration for an answer (no pun intended), I read a lot of Author Bios and About mes while going through blogs. Here are the commonest responses:

  • It is therapeutic
  • It is my way of expressing myself
  • I am a creative person and on my blog I get to unleash that creativity
  • I have been wanting to be a writer since I was 4 (or 5)
  • Everything I write comes from the heart (or the soul)
  • This is my space

All of the above are perfectly decent answers to the question. But none of them felt right to me. It’s not even like writing is an enjoyable pursuit. Most of the times it’s quite frustrating. Some of the times, you cannot believe the trash you have written. Rarely, do you feel like patting yourself on the back for a perfect piece of prose or poetry. Rarer is the ability to execute the plot that is in your head onto paper. Why would any self-respecting person take up the torture of being a writer? It is only full of self-doubt, self-loathing and occasional moments of ecstasy.

So last night I asked myself – why do you write Suchita? To help me get to an answer, I even thought back to all those times when I felt like picking up a pen and paper or opening a blank Word Document because I hadn’t written in a while. But no answer came to me.

I also went to my go-to person for any philosophical discussion – MP – who is also a writer and asked her for answer to the question. She said, “Suchi, I don’t know how not to be a writer. I may take a break from it. It may break me, shake me or make me. But I don’t know how to stop. I will come back to it no matter what.”

Of course I am paraphrasing – this isn’t a verbatim quote – but it catches the essence of what she said. And it came close to my answer for why I write. I was quite satisfied but it was still her answer and not mine.

But as matters concerning creativity, the answer came to me while I was reading a book. This is a verbatim quote and I love it.

IMAG1072_1


So may I request you, reader, to indulge my fancy and answer the question in the comments? Why do you write?

2 thoughts on “Why do I write?

  1. I started writing because I had a story in my head I wanted to read, and writing it was the only way up get it out. This ended up being my first self-published work, Askharoth.
    I keep writing because I found more stories, characters, and worlds that I want to learn more about. I’m amazed at what comes out of me sometimes.
    Does that make sense?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

