Hello to my once upon a time best friend

Who is now just a number in my contact list

Do you feel the intensity when I stare at your name?

Do you miss me or do you pacify yourself

Remembering the fond memories we had?

Do you look at my name,

Now a statistic on your phone

And wish those simpler days would return

Where we used to need each other?

Was it just need or did we have a connection?

Was it just me or did you feel it too –

The warmth, the comfort, the love

Of conversations and wisdom shared?

 

Years have gone since those inseparable days

You have moved on and so have I

Now we meet each other in social gatherings

Pretending we are still best friends

We meet, we greet, we talk

But do you feel the chasm as I do?

And then in moments of weakness you say –

“You’re still the only friend I have”

But do you know how to be a friend?

How can you when you never learnt?

Who am I to blame you though

When I made a new cult and forgot

The “somebody” that I used to know?

15 thoughts on “Somebody that I used to know

  1. Wow reminds me of my friend. We haven’t spoken to each other in 4 years and one day I received a message from him ” Are we still friends ? ” I replied ” You tell me ? ” *facepalm*

    Like

  2. Hurts because it is too close to the truth… am very guilty of being a part of this for reasons I cannot consider worthy today 😦
    Sarah Hoidahl – A Lovely Real Life Story of Kindness and Karma
    P.S. Is there anyway to link your twitter share button to your twitter account?

    Like

  3. Hey Suchita, its so bad to feel that way for old fiends but its the reality. Distance affects friendship more than we think.

    Like

  4. Powerful words. The misery of someone else’s moving on and us getting left behind. Tragic, yet too real to occur so commonly. And how beautifully you have organized your thoughts in this poem! Loved it. I totally could relate myself and so many of my “now acquaintances” that have moved on. Thanks for sharing!

    Social stigmas are a bane for our societies. Lets not give in.

    Regards,
    Pikakshi
    Readers of the Night

    Like

Leave a Reply

